Year Awards
1989 Australian Young Readers' Award – Highest Ranked Australian Author
1990 AWGIE - Australian Writers Guild Children’s Adaptation (TV) Round the Twist.
1993 AWGIE - Australian Writers’ Guild  - Best Children's Adaption (TV) Round the Twist Episode 5
1993 ABPA Joyce Nicholson Award - Spooner or Later - winner best designed children’s book of the year
1993 Angus & Robertson Bookworld Award - Children's Literary Medal - 'Best Selling Author' and 'Most Valued Author'
1994 Prix Jeunesse Award - Winner Round the Twist, Television Series
1994 Wilderness Society Environment Award for Children's Literature Picture Book - The Fisherman and the Theefyspray (shared with Jane Tanner)
1995 Order of Australia (AM) – Appointed Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia in the Australia Day Honours List for service to children's literature.
1996 Australian Publishers Association – APA People’s Choice Award
1998 Dymocks – Children’s Choice Award
1998 Christian Schools' Book Award
1999 Queensland Premier's Literary Award Best Children's Book - Unseen!
2000 Dymocks - Favourite Australian Children’s Author
2005 Children's Language and Literature - Speech Pathology Australia
2010 Fellow of Monash University
2019 Lifetime Achievement Award Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA)